Opinion & Editorial2020-03-20T15:56:39-07:00
Loading...

How Automation is Innovating Recruitment

March 17th, 2020|

Technology has changed the world so much over the last few decades and there are no signs of it slowing down any time soon. With advances coming in too quickly for most of us to process, it may feel like keeping things old fashioned is for the best. However, automation in the recruitment process may be the revolution that your company needs.

The Opportunity has Never Been This Big for Reinsurers to Invest in Innovation and Startups

March 16th, 2020|

In recent years, reinsurance companies have been closely working with startups. Among such joint endeavours, one can count the scouting for new technologies in order to integrate them with clients (insurance companies) and commercial business relationships with startups to which they have provided reinsurance in cases of events related to the policy coverage.

Running = Innovation (Learning from Personal Record in Berlin Marathon)

October 23rd, 2019|

Prof. dr. Stefan Stremersch had an epiphany while running his personal record time in the Berlin Marathon. Running is innovation. Running needs innovation, for example when it comes to new solutions for improving endurance running equipment. In this article he talks about big brands such as Nike and Asics and why are they are (un)successful. But innovation also needs running: running teaches you characteristics that are needed to make innovation into a success. Read prof. dr. Stefan Stremersch his view on this below.

An Innovative Complaint: United Breaks Guitars

June 25th, 2019|

In 2008, Dave Carroll, a Canadian guitarist and songwriter, flew with United Airlines from Halifax, Nova Scotia to Omaha, Nebraska with a stop at Chicago’s O’Hare airport. During the layover at O’Hare a fellow passenger saw the baggage handlers throwing baggage including Carroll’s precious guitar.

What Will our Children Do? 20 Jobs of the Future

April 29th, 2019|

Back in January 2010 we wrote a report for UK government on The Shape of Jobs to Come. The study highlighted new jobs that might emerge in the global economy by 2030 as a result of exponential developments and breakthroughs in science and technology. Many of those are now real jobs and the rest are still likely to materialise.

The Gospel for the 2019 Agenda – Innovation

April 26th, 2019|

About ten years ago, four out of ten people in the world had a Nokia cell phone. We can only imagine how the CEO of Nokia ten years ago would have reacted if someone told him that in 2018 not one of us would have a Nokia.

5 Business Innovators of 2019

April 17th, 2019|

Innovation is what creates progress and change. Without the introduction of new ideas and processes, we'd never get any further in life than where we are right now. In business, specifically, innovation means changes to technology and the economy. By always releasing a new, better product, companies constantly up the game to be better in every field.

The 6 Best Places to Work in Denver

April 10th, 2019|

Colorado has rapidly become one of the most prominent cities in the technology sector, but not all tech jobs are created equal. If you're looking for a new tech job in the Denver area, here are some of the most promising opportunities.

Hold Innovation & Mobilize National Entrepreneurialism

July 18th, 2017|

We are over flooded with massive innovation lacking commercialization; we have qualifications, certifications and degrees but seriously lacking directions; we have incubators and accelerators exhausted like real estate projects…we have make-believe economical development games but the real progress is not there. So what else we need?

How the Innovation Principle Supplements and Balances the Precautionary Principle

May 31st, 2017|

The aim of the precautionary principle seems laudable: lacking scientific consensus, the burden of proof for an action or policy not being harmful to the public or to the environment lies on those taking that action. In practice, however, this principle has proven a deterrent for innovation - particularly within the EU. How can the innovation principle - that is, examining new policies or plans for a negative impact they have on innovation - help to supplement and balance out the precautionary principle?

The Innovator’s Dilemma: Lessons from Kodak

May 24th, 2017|

I guess everyone knows the tragic story of the EastmanKodak Company: founded in the 19th century, dominating the photographic film market during most of the 20th century and finally collapsing into bankruptcy in the early 21st century, shaken by a new technology they had once decisively initiated.

Florence: Lessons from a Global Innovation Hub

April 24th, 2017|

While discussing innovative cities, one can’t help but think about those that were major catalysts for change in the past: Athens, Istanbul, Hong Kong, and Florence, for example. But how do they compare to more modern innovation hubs such as Silicon Valley, London, or Singapore? In this article, we’ll look at Florence - and 10 recognizable and applicable elements that contributed to its success throughout the 14th, 15th, and 16th centuries. We’ll also look at how Florence spurs innovation today.

The Right Time will Never Come: 5 Steps to Execute Your Idea

March 31st, 2017|

After two years of coming up with my idea, I finally launched the platform 'Scout Me Online.' All the reasons why we procrastinate, avoid or delay in making decisions committing to a specific task are because we believe we need to have something or be perfect. And when we don’t have those, or we doubt ourselves, which reinforces our current belief.

‘Collaborative Synthesizim’ and Innovative Nations

March 24th, 2017|

In an increasingly interconnected world, those individuals, sectors, and nations who can master collaborative synthesis will emerge as alpha-innovators. Through "collaborative synthesizim", the use of highly-integrated, progressive technologies working in synchronization will drive innovative practices, encourage new ways of thinking, and present new challenges.

Three Hurdles to Sustainable Innovation

March 15th, 2017|

Most people agree on the importance of sustainability in innovation, so why is it difficult to deliver? In this article, we’ll explore three hurdles to sustainable innovation: it’s often not considered by innovators themselves as they plan their projects; sustainability is not framed as an exciting and imaginative opportunity; and that sustainable innovation may not fit into a company’s ongoing processes.

The Eight Attributes of Bottom-Up Innovation Leaders

February 28th, 2017|

Bottom-up innovation is fueled by many ideas initiated by employees, as opposed to top-down innovation, which is fueled by a strong vision - often by the company’s founder. Bottom-up innovation leaders are entrepreneurial, supported by management’s emphasis on creativity and a can-do culture, and often share these eight attributes.

Making Innovation More of a Science And Less of an Art

February 21st, 2017|

One of the greatest challenges facing innovation professionals is to find the right approach to a given innovation problem. Whether that’s instilling the innovation mojo in a large corporation or simply helping teams become more innovative, the ways to do this seem to be more of an art than a science. However, during the last ten years there has been a strong push to turn this art form into more of a science.

5 Most Influential Innovators of the 21st Century

January 31st, 2017|

Ever since the beginning of mankind, there has always been someone who pushes the human race forward, such as the cavemen who learn how to make fire or the Native American Indians who sharpened stones to create weapons. With the advancement of technology in the 21st century these innovators: Elon Musk, Steve Jobs, Sheryl Sandberg, Mark Zuckerberg and Sheila Lirio Marcelo are creating new ways to travel, interact with others and access professionals for help.

The Digital Tsunami

January 26th, 2017|

These days, when migrants arrive at a refugee camp, one of the first things they ask for is access to WiFi and electricity to recharge their cell phones. Their smartphone is as basic a resource for survival as food and water. This is a vivid reminder of the fact that we are fully immersed in a digital world.

Innovators: Are You Smart Enough For 2017?

January 20th, 2017|

We can all see that global commerce has evolved, innovative excellence has advanced and entrepreneurialism has accelerated. Just to make things more interesting, all of this change happened extremely rapidly. But how about our own intelligence? Are we really smart enough for 2017 and beyond? Ambition encourages us to reach for success, so let’s test our own entrepreneurial intelligence to see if we’re up to the challenges of 2017.

How Automation is Innovating Recruitment

March 17th, 2020|

Technology has changed the world so much over the last few decades and there are no signs of it slowing down any time soon. With advances coming in too quickly for most of us to process, it may feel like keeping things old fashioned is for the best. However, automation in the recruitment process may be the revolution that your company needs.

The Opportunity has Never Been This Big for Reinsurers to Invest in Innovation and Startups

March 16th, 2020|

In recent years, reinsurance companies have been closely working with startups. Among such joint endeavours, one can count the scouting for new technologies in order to integrate them with clients (insurance companies) and commercial business relationships with startups to which they have provided reinsurance in cases of events related to the policy coverage.

Running = Innovation (Learning from Personal Record in Berlin Marathon)

October 23rd, 2019|

Prof. dr. Stefan Stremersch had an epiphany while running his personal record time in the Berlin Marathon. Running is innovation. Running needs innovation, for example when it comes to new solutions for improving endurance running equipment. In this article he talks about big brands such as Nike and Asics and why are they are (un)successful. But innovation also needs running: running teaches you characteristics that are needed to make innovation into a success. Read prof. dr. Stefan Stremersch his view on this below.

An Innovative Complaint: United Breaks Guitars

June 25th, 2019|

In 2008, Dave Carroll, a Canadian guitarist and songwriter, flew with United Airlines from Halifax, Nova Scotia to Omaha, Nebraska with a stop at Chicago’s O’Hare airport. During the layover at O’Hare a fellow passenger saw the baggage handlers throwing baggage including Carroll’s precious guitar.

What Will our Children Do? 20 Jobs of the Future

April 29th, 2019|

Back in January 2010 we wrote a report for UK government on The Shape of Jobs to Come. The study highlighted new jobs that might emerge in the global economy by 2030 as a result of exponential developments and breakthroughs in science and technology. Many of those are now real jobs and the rest are still likely to materialise.